The Test: AdBlock Plus

Save your time and traffic

(Official Slogan)

Text from Site:

Ever been annoyed by all those ads and banners on the internet that often take longer to download than everything else on the page? Install Adblock Plus now and get rid of them. Right-click on a banner and choose “Adblock” from the context menu — the banner won’t be downloaded again. Maybe even replace parts of the banner address with star symbols to block similar banners as well. Or choose a filter subscription, then even this simple task will usually be unnecessary: the filter subscription will block most advertisements fully automatically.

I must say its true. Every word of it. Ever since I installed it my meetings with Ads have dropped almost 95%.

So I thought why not put it on a test, some websites with advertising that annoys me.

Windows Live Mail

Ads encountered: 0

Things I did:

  • Successfully entered the Today screen
  • Checked my mail(inbox)
  • Sent a reply
  • Sent a new mail

Windows Live Spaces

Ads encountered:0

Things I did:

  • Entered the home Screen
  • Checked my own space
  • Wrote a blog post
  • Did some layout editing

Yahoo Mail

Ads encountered: 1

Things I did:

  • Successfully entered the Today screen
  • Checked my mail(inbox)
  • Sent a reply
  • Sent a new mail
  • Chatted a bit

“Yeah so what if it was a “Tip” Ad? Come on I have been using Yahoo mail long enough to know “the short cut to a new mail message!””

Engadget

Gadget site but I do find the Ads quite irritating!

Ads encountered: 0

Things I did:

  • Checked the news
  • Checked several different articles (3 to be exact)

Deviantart

Ads encountered: 0
Things I did:

  • Checked the Subscriptions
  • Checked Messages
  • Replied to friends comments
  • Saw 3 Deviations

Ah… The sounds of an Ad-Free Web!

Even if you do find an Ad just right click on it and select Adblock “image/frame/link” and there you have it never will there be anymore Ads!

Tip use the following subscriptions:

EasyList (USA)

Fanboy’s List

EasyElement

All you have to do is navigate to this page, and click subscribe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

